2020 AERC Collaborative PhD Fellowship Programme in Economics for African Students

Applications are open for the AERC Collaborative PhD Fellowship Programme in Economics 2020 for African Students. It was Launched in 2002, the Collaborative PhD Programme (CPP) in Economics’ primary aim is to strengthen teaching and research capacity in sub-Saharan African countries, to increase the pool of potential researchers and policy analysts, and to gradually build-up and retain African scholars in Africa, leading to an increase in capacity across the continent.

African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) Documentary

CPP aims to increase output of professionals conversant with – and specialists in – African issues, leading to the possible emergence of various theories and African solutions to these problems. CPP integrates theory, tools, and African applications into academic teaching, ensuring that theory is firmly grounded on the empirical side.

Scholarship details:

Degree type: PhD

Value of Award: Fully funded

Duration of Award: 4 years

Application Deadline: 31st July 2020


  • Have applied and been admitted to any one of the listed CPP degree-awarding universities.
  • Have attained at bachelor’s degree level at least a Second-Class Honours (Upper Division) or equivalent in Economics or related field from an accredited university.
  • Have a master’s degree (with coursework and thesis component) in Economics, Agricultural Economics, or related fields from a recognized University. The coursework should have covered microeconomics, macroeconomics, and quantitative methods.
  • Female and applicants from post-conflict and fragile states are encouraged to apply.
  • Possession of at least 1 relevant publication in a refereed journal will be an added advantage.
  • Evidence of engagement in economic management, research and/or training in the public sector will be an added advantage.

Eligible Countries: African countries

To be Taken at (Country): 

Host Degree-Awarding Universities such as:

University of Cape Town, Southern Africa

University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Eastern Africa)

University of Ibadan, Nigeria (Anglophone, Western Africa)

University of Yaoundé II, Cameroon (Francophone Africa)

Non-Host Degree-awarding universities (DAUs) such as

University of Witwatersrand, Southern Africa)

University of Nairobi, Kenya (Eastern Africa)

University of Benin, Nigeria (Western Africa)

Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny, Cote D’Ivoire (Francophone Africa)

Number of Awards: Not specified

Upon receipt of an admission letter from the specific university, candidates should submit documents  to our training division at training@aercafrica.org.

Required documents:

  • Application for scholarship
  • A copy of the admission letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Certified copies of academic certificates and transcripts

Visit funding Webpage for Details


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: