2020 OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing countries

OWSD-Elsevier Foundation invites application for OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World. The Foundation is aimed recognising the achievements of researchers who have made significant contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge. The program represents a longstanding partnership between the Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) and the Elsevier Foundation. Prizes are awarded annually on a rotating basis among the disciplines of Biological Sciences, Engineering Sciences and Physical Sciences. Each of the five winners will present their papers at the annual conference of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), which is attended by leading scientists, engineers, educators and policymakers from around the world.

Award details:

Deadline: Closed

Eligible regions: Any

Latin America and the Caribbean; East and South-East Asia and the Pacific; Central and South Asia; Sub-Saharan Africa.

Nature of the Awards

  • Five Awards will be awarded annually, one each to a female scientist from one of the five regions of the world: Latin America and the Caribbean; the Arab region; Sub-Saharan Africa; Central and South Asia; and East and South-East Asia and the Pacific.
  • The five region-specific annual Awards will rotate between the life sciences, chemical sciences and physical, mathematical and engineering sciences.
  • The five winning scientists will be celebrated for their research excellence, and receive a cash prize of USD5,000 in addition to a year’s complimentary access to ScienceDirect and all-expenses-paid attendance at the Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), where the awards ceremony will take place. The winners will also be invited to attend international events pertaining to OWSD.

Application process


  • Candidates must be female early-career scientists (within ten years of earning their PhD degree).
  • At nomination, candidates must have lived and worked for at least 5 of the last 15 years in one of the countries listed in the nomination form.


  • The competition will be judged by a distinguished panel of international scientists, including members of TWAS, OWSD and ICTP, and chaired by OWSD.
  • The assessment will be based on achievements in the field, with particular attention paid to the nominees’ publications in international peer-reviewed journals.


Applications are invited from women scientists from the eligible developing countries. Applications must include the candidate’s curriculum vitae, full list of publications, at least one reference letter, endorsement statement from a senior academic scientist.

Source: Twas website


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: